Boston Red Sox fans reminded Alex Rodriguez of his history with controversial postseason calls when he tweeted about the one in Game 6 of the World Series.
Alex Rodriguez is no stranger to controversy in the postseason and Boston Red Sox fans were quick to remind him after he tweeted about a horrendous blown call in Game 6 of the World Series.
The game was interrupted for what seemed like an eternity as umpires bumbled their way through a video review that they still somehow managed to get wrong.
Washington’s Trea Turner hit a weak dribbler back toward the pitcher and raced down the line. Brad Peacock fired a throw to first base as Turner crossed the bag, only for the runner to inadvertently knock the glove out of the hand of Yuli Gurriel. The ball trailed off toward right field, allowing the runners to advance, but umpire Sam Holbrook ruled Turner out for interfering with the throw.
The shocking call sent shockwaves throughout social media. Sure, maybe Turner stepped on a blade of grass on his way to first base but he was clearly in the baseline by the time he got to the bag. He collided with Gurriel’s glove only because the throw was aimed directly at him. How was Turner supposed to avoid the tag? Where should he have run? It may have been “interference” by the letter of the law but common sense should have prevailed.
Everyone who isn’t an Astros fan was baffled by the call and outraged when it was upheld after review. That includes Rodriguez, now an analyst for Fox Sports.
The blown call didn’t determine the outcome of the World Series. Anthony Rendon‘s two-run homer later that inning cooled the controversy as the Nationals cruised to a 7-2 victory, forcing a Game 7. However, the second part of A-Rod’s statement remains true – it was a sad moment for baseball since the runner was clearly safe.
While we may agree with him, Red Sox fans couldn’t resist the urge to point out the irony of Rodriguez blasting the umpires about a controversial call at first base. It was clearly an accident that Turner knocked the ball out of Gurriel’s glove. That wasn’t the case when A-Rod did it to Bronson Arroyo in Game 6 of the 2004 ALCS.
The play began in a similar fashion with a weak grounder to the pitcher. Only in this case, the ball went down the first baseline. Arroyo scooped it up, glanced at his first baseman, before deciding to take it upon himself to tag Rodriguez for the out. The Yankees slugger would have none of that, swiping at the glove of Arroyo to knock the ball away.
A-Rod was initially ruled safe, allowing Derek Jeter to scamper home to cut the lead to one. Red Sox manager Terry Francona stormed the field to argue the injustice with a fiery rage. The umpires huddled together and quickly overturned the call.
The Red Sox went on to win that game and followed with a Game 7 victory to cap the greatest comeback in postseason history. Rodriguez could have been a playoff hero for igniting a series-clinching rally. Instead, he became the subject of the next great social media meme.
Rodriguez was bombarded with responses and clips of this infamous play following his tweet during last night’s game. A-Rod may have conveniently forgotten about his own history with controversial calls at first base during the postseason but Red Sox fans will always remember.