Pedroia wins 4th “Heart and Hustle” Award


Dustin Pedroia was selected as the recipient of the 2013 Heart and Hustle Award by the Major League Baseball Players Alumni Association (MLBPAA).

The award honors active players “who demonstrate a passion for the game of baseball and best embody the values, spirit, and tradition of the game. The Heart and Hustle Award is the only award in Major League Baseball that is voted on by former players.”

Pedroia has won the Heart and Hustle Award for the Red Sox three times previously, and is active in the Red Sox Foundation. He also works with the Jimmy Fund in partnership with the Red Sox.

The announcement was made at the 14th Annual Legends for Youth Dinner in New York City which also honored Lifetime Achievement Award winners Ozzie Smith and Bobby Richardson, as well as Brooks Robinson Community Service Award winner Tim Wakefield.

2013 Heart and Hustle Award nominees

• Baltimore Orioles: Nate McLouth
• Boston Red Sox: Dustin Pedroia
• Chicago White Sox: Alex Rios
• Cleveland Indians: Jason Kipnis
• Detroit Tigers: Don Kelly
• Houston Astros: Brandon Barnes
• Kansas City Royals: Alex Gordon
• Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim: J.B. Shuck
• Minnesota Twins: Ryan Doumit
• New York Yankees: Brett Gardner
• Oakland Athletics: Josh Donaldson
• Seattle Mariners: Raul Ibanez
• Tampa Bay Rays: Sam Fuld
• Texas Rangers: Adrian Beltre
• Toronto Blue Jays: Mark DeRosa

• Arizona Diamondbacks: Gerardo Parra
• Atlanta Braves: Andrelton Simmons
• Chicago Cubs: Anthony Rizzo
• Cincinnati Reds: Shin-Soo Choo
• Colorado Rockies: Michael Cuddyer
• Los Angeles Dodgers: Nick Punto
• Miami Marlins: Juan Pierre
• Milwaukee Brewers: Carlos Gomez
• New York Mets: Daniel Murphy
• Philadelphia Phillies: Chase Utley
• Pittsburgh Pirates: Andrew McCutchen
• San Diego Padres: Chris Denorfia
• San Francisco Giants: Hunter Pence
• St. Louis Cardinals: Matt Carpenter
• Washington Nationals: Ian Desmond

Prior Heart and Hustle Award winners:

2012: Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim
2011: Torii Hunter, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim
2010: Roy Halladay, Philadelphia Phillies
2009: Albert Pujols, St. Louis Cardinals
2008: Grady Sizemore, Cleveland Indians
2007: Craig Biggio, Houston Astros
2006: Craig Biggio, Houston Astros
2005: David Eckstein, St. Louis Cardinals

Learn more about the Major League Players Association at their official site: