“EVERYBODY’S AN UMPIRE” Steal of Home: runner and pitch arrive simultaneously


Ebbets Field, Brooklyn, N.Y. in September and Jackie Robinson is on third base in the bottom of the 15th with 2 out, score tied at 5.

Due to the length of the game, the Dodger manager has no eligible players left on the bench and  no pitchers left in the bullpen.

So, the Dodger manager is forced to let his remaining pitcher bat, who has tossed five innings and is out of gas. Not surprisingly, the pitcher takes two pitches and the count goes to 0-2.

Robinson realizes that his pitcher will likely strike out, so…

"he decides to try to steal home to win the game."

Robinson gets a great lead and breaks for the plate; the pitch is now on the way too.  As Robinson slides into the plate he is struck by the pitch, which is in the middle of the strike zone.

Q: Does Robinson score the run and win the game for the Dodgers?

"Q: Is Robinson called out for interference?"

Q: Is Robinson safe because he touched the plate before the “strike” was caught by the catcher?

Q: Is Robinson safe because he touched the plate before the umpire called the pitch a strike?

VIDEO:  http://zipd.eu/exv/yt/?as=1&i=0pFnzx4NQIE  [Not the hypothetical play above.]


Rule 6.05 (n)

The umpire shall call “Strike Three,”
the batter is out and the run does not count.”

This ruling applies with 2 out.

With none or 1 out:

…the umpire shall call “Strike Three,”

the ball is dead, and the run counts.”