Oct 24, 2013; Boston, MA, USA; Boston Red Sox former first baseman Kevin Millar catches a ball for the ceremonial first pitch with other members of the 2004 Boston Red Sox prior to game two of the MLB baseball World Series against the St. Louis Cardinals at Fenway Park. Mandatory Credit: Greg M. Cooper-USA TODAY Sports

2004 World Series champion Red Sox to be honored tonight at Fenway

“The Idiots” are back in Boston.

The 2004 World Series championship team will be honored tonight at Fenway Park to commemorate the 10-year anniversary of their curse-breaking season. The ceremony will take place before the present day Red Sox take on the Braves.

The 2004 team is remembered most for their chemistry and the way they were able to endear themselves to the entire city, qualities very similar to last season’s championship team.

From ESPN’s Joe McDonald, “It wasn’t the best players,” said Kevin Millar. “We had a few superstars in Pedro and Manny, but we were the best unit, if that makes sense.”

The big names in attendance will be 2004 World Series MVP Manny Ramirez, Johnny Damon, Pedro Martinez, Trot Nixon, Jason Varitek, Tim Wakefield, Derek Lowe, Millar, Mike Timlin and Keith Foulke. Of course, David Ortiz will also be around.

Others in attendance will be Orlando Cabrera, Lenny DiNardo, Gabe Kapler, Curtis Leskanic, Abe Alvarez, Ellis Burks, Cesar Crespo, Dave McCarty, Ramiro Mendoza, Mike Myers, Pokey Reese, Ron Jackson, Adam Hyzdu, Lynn Jones, Phil Seibel, Jason Shiell and Scott Williamson.

Here’s to hoping Millar can provide a jolt to the current team with a “Cowboy Up” speech.

Tags: Boston Red Sox

comments powered by Disqus